Apply

  1. Documentation of Completion of National Home Inspector Examination.
  2. Documentation of at least one hundred (100) home inspections.
  3. $500,000 Certificate of Liability Insurance, indicating CRLB as the certificate holder.
  4. $500,000 min. Certificate of Errors and Omissions Insurance, indicating CRLB as the certificate holder.
  5. Certificate of Worker’s Compensation Insurance, indicating CRLB as the certificate holder, must be submitted by applicants with employees.
  6. Business ID# and date of incorporation for Corporations and Limited Liability Companies. Search a Rhode Island Secretary of State Business ID #.
  7. $200 license fee for 2 years 

The fee can be paid online.  Additionally, checks (please include Viewpoint Application # on check ) made payable to RICRLB may be mailed to:

         State Building Office
         RICRLB
         560 Jefferson Boulevard Ste. 100
         Warwick, RI 02886

Please note: RICRLB does not accept cash.

Out of State Applicant Information

Home Inspectors renewing their existing license must follow the directions for license renewal.

  1. Documentation of Completion of National Home Inspector Examination.
  2. Documentation of at least fifty (50) home inspections in the presence of a licensed home inspector.
  3. $500,000 Certificate of Liability Insurance, indicating CRLB as the certificate holder.
  4. $500,000 min. Certificate of Errors and Omissions Insurance, indicating CRLB as the certificate holder.
  5. Certificate of Worker’s Compensation Insurance, indicating CRLB as the certificate holder, must be submitted by applicants with employees.
  6. Business ID# and date of incorporation for Corporations and Limited Liability Companies. Search a Rhode Island Secretary of State Business ID #.
  7. $200 license fee for 2 years 

The fee can be paid online.  Additionally, checks (please include Viewpoint Application # on check ) made payable to RICRLB may be mailed to:

         State Building Office
         RICRLB
         560 Jefferson Boulevard Ste. 100
         Warwick, RI 02886

Please note: RICRLB does not accept cash.

Out of State Applicant Information

Associate Home Inspectors renewing their existing license must follow the directions for license renewal.

Eligibility for Reciprocity

1. Holds a valid license issued by another state or possession of the United States or the District of Columbia, which has standards substantially equivalent to those of this state as determined by the board; or

2. Is licensed in this state as a state certified real estate appraiser or to practice architecture or professional engineering, provided the person meets the requirements set forth in R.I. Gen. Laws §§ 5-65.1-4(a)(1), (a)(2), and (a)(4).